Photos: Owass and KG Basketball Teams Honoured at Baba Yara Stadium

The victorious Basketball team of Opoku Ware School that won the just ended national spriteball Championship were this afternoon honoured by the Ashanti Regional inter schools and colleges sports federation at the Baba Yara Stadium Infront of the huge crowd that watched the first day of the super zonals. The team made history by becoming the first school from the region to achieve this feat. The federation head and headmaster of T. I. Amass supported by Col Mahama of Armed forces SHTS honoured the entire team and technical bench for making Ashanti proud.

Kumasi Girls Senior High School were also honoured at the same ceremony for placing 2nd to Wesley Girls High school from Cape Coast who were the eventual winners with a 6:4 score.

Opoku Ware School (OWASS) has won the tenth anniversary edition of the Sprite Ball Championship after the Ashanti Region side beat Mfantsipim School 27-25 in the final game of the tournament. Opoku Ware revenged the semi final loss to the same side in the last edition.

OWASS started off on a good note as the side pummeled Mfantsipim with a flurry of baskets including a pair of three point shots from Shooting Guard Emmanuel Agyapong and running layups from Emmanuel Harris.

At the end of the first half, OWASS led 19-9 in what was turning out to be a landslide win for the Kumasi side who kept danger men Kofi Aboagye Acheampong and Phixon Selwyn in check.

However, quick reaction from Mfantsipim early in the second half signaled a revival from the record winner of the competition. Midway through the half, Mfantsipim took a 24-23 lead before Harris sank completed a three point play to restore Opoku Ware’s lead and seal victory.

St. John’s School won bronze after beating Pope John’s Senior High School 23-16.

Fellow Cape-Coast based side Wesley Girls High School had much better fortunes as it beat Kumasi Girls Senior High School 6-4 in the girls division to win the Championship


Leave a Comment