Sunday , October 24 2021
Breaking News
Home / Uncategorized / Full List of 32 Schools For Baba Yara Stadium Barring Protests: Facts and Figures: ‘BYT’

Full List of 32 Schools For Baba Yara Stadium Barring Protests: Facts and Figures: ‘BYT’

Bright Yeboah Taylor ‘BYT’

2019 Ashanti Regional Inter-School & College Boys Soccer Competition (Elimination Series) Qualification

(The 4-day exercise has come to an end )

A total of 32 Schools have qualified to play in the final tournament at Baba Yara Sports Stadium, Kumasi.

The top finished schools from 32 groups are through to compete for the finals of the Tournament which will be held at Baba Yara Sports Stadium.

The last day of the Inter-schools soccer qualifiers ended yesterday with 32 schools securing qualification to the last round of 32 but the qualification of some of the schools will be tested in the protest room as some cases comes before the federation.

Thirty-Two (32) Schools have already qualified after the last Day

  1. Agona Sec Tech
  2. Sakafia
  3. Toase SHS
  4. Gyaman Pensan SHS
  5. Osei Kyeretwie SHS (Okess)
  6. Beposo SHS
  7. Kumasi Academy (Kumaca)
  8. Kenyasi SDA
  9. Adu Gyamfi SHS
  10. Mankranso SHS
  11. Prempeh College
  12. Okomfo Anokye SHS
  13. Asanteman SHS
  14. Adanwomase SHS
  15. Antoa SHS
  16. Juaben SHS
  17. Islamic, Kumasi
  18. Dwamena Akenten, Offinso
  19. Kumasi High School
  20. Osei Tutu, Akropong
  21. T.I Ahmadiyya (Phobia), Kumasi
  22. Kumasi Anglican SHS
  23. Kumasi Sec/Tech School (KSTS)
  24. Jachie Pramso SHS.
  25. Aduman SHS
  26. Konongo Odumasi SHS
  28. Kumasi Technical Institute (KTI)
  29. Our Lady Of Grace SHS (OLAG)
  30. Armed Forces SEC/TECH
  31. Kwesi Oppong SHS
  32. Manso Adubia SHS

Reports after Day 4
Group 25
Aduman SHS who failed to appear to the 2018 edition after losing the slot to Tweneboah Kodua will compete for this year’s competition bearing any protest against them. Aduman SHS is one of the Schools that many believe they could have been one-time winners of the competition after producing some players for the last ten (10) years in Ghana Premier League. Some of the Notable names are, Martin Antwi, Richmond Ayi, Empem Dacosta, Kwadwo Amoako. These players now play for the top three most successful premier league clubs in Ghana (Asante Kotoko, Hearts Of Oak and Ashanti Gold).
Tweneboah Kodua who of late has also produced, Yaw Yeboah, Samuel Owusu for the National teams in Ghana will be missed out of the Competition.

Group 26
Konongo Odumasi who has been champions for once (1966) in the old day’s tournament which was not like this format, has been once in the finals since the introduction of the new format which was popularly known as ‘Milo games’.
They faced Adu Gyamfi in 2012, a match which Osei Barnes, former Ghana Black Satellites player, came from Belgium to help Adu Gyamfi to win the Cup for three consecutive times.
Konongo Odumasi reached 1/16 stage last year after they were eliminated by Adu Gyamfi SHS. Konongo Odumasi before losing to Adu Gyamfi has lost to Kwesi Oppong SHS during the round of 32 stages but won protest against them after losing 2-0.

Group 27
KNUST SHS best performance at the Competition came on 10th December 2015 when they were defeated 2-0 by Adu Gyamfi SHS during the bronze medal stage played before the GrandFinal game between Obuasi Sec Tech and Agogo Collins SHS which O’SEC/TECH won by 2-0.

Group 28
K.T.I last reached the Semi-Finals of the Competition in 2011. Former local Black Stars Striker, Joel Fameyeh was their key striker.
K.T.I received the Bronze medal without kicking the ball in 2011 after T.I Ahmadiyya refused to honor the game.
T.I Amass on that year defeated Adu Gyamfi on penalties in the semi-finals and they were waiting to play the grand final with Simms Commercial School, before they were realized, a decision has come from the DC that, their player, Emmanuel Agyemang ‘Chief’ who later played for King Faisal in the Ghana Premier League was unqualified to play for T.I Amass and eventually lost the points to Adu Gyamfi. Amass refused to play the 3rd place playoff match.

Group 29
Ejisuman who lost 3-2 to Osei Tutu SHS during the round of 32 last year will not be available for this year’s edition the same as Bekwai SDA.
They lost the slot to Our Lady Of Grace SHS at Mamponteng. No wonder they are through to this year’s finals looking at the Facilities at their Campus. Find time to check their football fields and other Sporting Courts at their premises.

In group 30
Dwenti last year top their group but couldn’t find themselves available for the tournament after losing a protest against Armed Forces.
Armed Forces for this year has rectified the mistake they did during the qualifiers last year and are through to this year’s edition without a board room points.

Group 31
Kwesi Oppong SHS has qualified for the 2nd time in history. They first received their ticket last year under the stewardship of Coach Solomon Appiah, Former Coach of Dadease Agric SHS who is also a former coach of Ashtown ladies football club and now a coach for Kumasi Sports Academy ladies football club.
They won their first game 2-0 against Konongo Odumasi last year at the round 32 stage but lost a protest filed against them by Konongo Odumasi SHS.

Group 32
Tepa SHS on the 10th consecutive times has failed to appear to the tournament finals. Tepa after winning the Competition in 2007 edition held in Obuasi Len Clay Sports Stadium has made themselves available only once in 2009. They happened to be the worst defending champions after failing to appear the tournament when they were the defending champions in 2008.
None of the past winners aside Wesley College of Education (1991 & 1993) who is not part of the Federation Calendar anymore has failed to absent themselves from the tournament than Tepa since the new format was introduced in 1989 by Nestle Ghana ‘Milo’.
It was Manso Adubia who qualified from the group.
Manso Adubia is also the worst team to have played Semifinals when they lost 5-3 to Prempeh College in 2013 after leading 3-0 at half time.
That happens to be the greatest come back of all time in the competition.
Prempeh College with the likes of Appiah McCarthy of Ashanti Gold fame and Abass Issah who played the Black Meteors game yesterday against South Africa by scoring his penalty won that tournament after beating T.I Amass 3-1 in the finals

Oppong Memorial SHS has petitioned the Federation seeking a replay of their match against T.I Amass that eventually ended abruptly.

By: Bright Yeboah Taylor ‘BYT’

About arsrc

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *